Determined to improve the lives of individuals with disabilities, CareLink’s founder, Marcella I. Schmoeger, opened CareLink’s first program in 1959. More than 60 years later, her vision and philosophy are still at the heart of the agency.

Each year, CareLink Community Support Services presents the Marcie’s Award to honor the memory and dedication of its founder by recognizing program participants for their success in recovery, wellness, and self-determination. While the awards are typically presented at SnowBall, the agency’s annual holiday party, this year’s Marcie’s Award and Special Recognition recipients were honored virtually in the program below. Congratulations to all of our 2021 honorees!

2021 Marcie’s Award Winners

Richard Griffin           Angela Mahoney

Special Recognition Recipients

David Ackerman
Tyree Brown
Michael Cruise
Alexander Detweiler
John Gretzer
Emily Mancuso
Sara Mangano
Kevin McCarry
Andre McMullen
Hanif Muhammad
Charles Portocales


Angela Mahoney and Residential Counselor Carole Lavella